Mysteries of Wesir, Day 3

The shrine is dark. His candle which is always lit, now is extinguished. Wesir is dead.

Like last year, today is very cold. A harsh wind blows out of the West. Clouds are in the sky obscuring the full moon which hides behind them. Even when He is gone, the veil parts at times so we can see Him. Wesir is gone but do we mourn for Him, or for ourselves? Do we mourn because His life is no more, or do we mourn because that part of our life is gone?

I mourn because I feel empty. I go about my daily business. Work. Assignments. Communicating with friends and relatives. But all feeling empty. It is like I suddenly have a compounded clinical depression slam into me with a sledgehammer. I hide it well. Most people wouldn’t understand. You see, unlike other faiths, us Kemetics don’t get an Easter morning. We don’t ever get the joy of the resurrection.

So tonight I embrace my emptiness. I embrace it because I know it will pass. He has taught me that. He has shown me that all things change, even those as powerful as the gods. And change isn’t bad, it is just another path. It is frightening, not knowing where we are going, but He travels with us.

May you experience the emptiness of the Lord of Silence this night, and know…

About Raheri

Greetings everyone! I thought I would give you all a little information about myself. In secular life my name is Matt, and I am a 30-something man living in the Midwest. I am a registered nurse by trade and am working on completing my doctoral degree. Because of this I may not be regular at updating this blog, but I will try. I enjoy traveling, cleaning, and playing with my pug Roscoe. I am a member of the Kemetic Orthodox Faith. My Shemsu name is Raheriwesir. I am a w'ab priest of Wesir (Osiris) and have been affiliated with the House since about 2007. A w’ab priest is a priest who tends a shrine to one of the Names of Netjer. I am also currently an ordained reverend in the faith. I am also a practicing vodouisant, initiated as a Hounsi senp. I am continuing to learn about the role of the Haitian spirits in my life and why they want to hang around me. In addition to all this I am currently a 3rd Degree Master Mason. I am also affiliated with the Scottish Rite and have obtained the 32nd degree there. View all posts by Raheri

2 responses to “Mysteries of Wesir, Day 3

Leave a Reply

