10. Beliefs: Ma’at

First I would like to apologize for the sporadic posts. Life outside blog-land has taken a hold of me. But I would like to continue where I left off.

Ma’at

We Kemetics talk about it all the time, but just what is it? What do we mean we when are saying we are living in ma’at? What do we mean when we say may ma’at prevail? But before we decide what these statements mean, we have to figure out ma’at.

Ma’at is a name of Netjer, and represents the ultimate representation of ma’at (the concept). I think most of the times we tend to think of ma’at and being equal to morality, but this is Western thinking easing in. Ma’at does not have a moral compass doing what is right and what is wrong. It is a force bringing things back to the way they were at the First Time. It is a perfect state of being, which acts on gods, mankind, spirits, and all world events in the Seen and Unseen. It is not a beginning. It is not an end. It is more of a middle place where all things flow to and from.

When I first started along the Kemetic path I was deeply entwined with the philosophy of ma’at being a moral compass. It was justice. It was truth. It was what is right. And while all these things are in some form correct, it is so much more than that, yet many people cannot see beyond this, because sometimes ma’at slaps you in the face. Sometimes it is a wakeup call. Sometimes it is just annoying.

As a priest I bring ma’at daily to Netjer in the form of my father, Wesir-Sokar. I offer it to the gods on behalf of the King and the Nation of Kemet. I pray and give the perfection of the First Time and in essence allow Zep Tepi to begin daily. It is an awesome and humbling service. One that I never take lightly and I do for the love of Netjer and my community.

To live in ma’at from this perspective is to spend every moment of the day allowing ma’at to work on us, and not fighting against it. It is similar to the “mindfulness” lessons popular in new age and eastern mysticism. It is living each moment of each day with intention. Everything we do has reason and meaning, even the most minuscule of actions.

As for the statement of ma’at prevailing…I have personally never had much use for this sort of statement. It is similar to me when people talk about karma coming back, universe revenge, or similar things. If anyone has some insight into this please leave comments. Maybe I am just coming from an uninformed standpoint.

My understanding of ma’at is much better now than back when I was a novice Kemetic, and it continues to grow. Today ma’at is an acceptance of who I am in all my flaws, insecurities, and actions.  Tomorrow it may be something different, but that is the beauty of ma’at. Every day you exam it is Zep Tepi. You find something new and perfect each time. They can contradict each other, and it still is ma’at.

“Ma’at, Feather of Truth, Lady of Justice, may my heart not be heavy.
Let it not crash to the ground from the weight of isfet.
May my heart not obliterate the scales and let the Uncreated prevail.
May my heart not be so light to fly off the scale into Ammit’s mouth.
May my heart be even with the scales of justice.
May my heart be balanced like the essence of the goddess herself,
so that I may be True of Voice before the tribunal of the gods.”

– Raheriwesir

About Raheri

Greetings everyone! I thought I would give you all a little information about myself. In secular life my name is Matt, and I am a 30-something man living in the Midwest. I am a registered nurse by trade and am working on completing my doctoral degree. Because of this I may not be regular at updating this blog, but I will try. I enjoy traveling, cleaning, and playing with my pug Roscoe. I am a member of the Kemetic Orthodox Faith. My Shemsu name is Raheriwesir. I am a w'ab priest of Wesir (Osiris) and have been affiliated with the House since about 2007. A w’ab priest is a priest who tends a shrine to one of the Names of Netjer. I am also currently an ordained reverend in the faith. I am also a practicing vodouisant, initiated as a Hounsi senp. I am continuing to learn about the role of the Haitian spirits in my life and why they want to hang around me. In addition to all this I am currently a 3rd Degree Master Mason. I am also affiliated with the Scottish Rite and have obtained the 32nd degree there. View all posts by Raheri

2 responses to “10. Beliefs: Ma’at

Leave a Reply

