6. Beliefs: Spirits and Other Unseen Creatures

Besides the gods, other inhabitants are in the Unseen world and interact with us: the ancestors (Akhu) and spirits (netjeri). Occasionally they cross the veil and come into contact with us in the Seen world, and this is how we know that they are present.

In Kemeticism the ancestors are called the Akhu, which means “shining ones.” The Akhu are the transfigured spirits of dead humans who have passed judgment and become something great. They are our blood relatives who have passed on. They are those people whom we considered family and have moved on.

I have numerous Akhu. I have family members, friends, Kemetic akhu, and Masonic Akhu. Some of these I adopted into my life, and they have adopted me as well. I have had one Kemetic akhu follow me home from a museum and find her place on the ancestral shrine. I gained a multitude of akhu when I was initiated into Freemasonry. Our Lodge is quite old, and filled with a rich history of great men whom I call brother.

Spirits are generally referred as netjeri, which means “powerful” or “divine.” These spirits are non-human residents in the Unseen that are not a god or an akh. The spirits can be servants, messengers, nature spirits, or the various spirits from cultures around the world.

Another less common spirit is the muuet, meaning “dead ones.” These are the kau of humans who for one reason or another have not gone to judgment. Sometimes they are referred to as angry, but just like living humans they may be just confused or lonely. Muuet that are bothersome to humans generally go away on their own, but if for some reason you feel the need to have added protection, pray to your own Akhu to help the spirit move on, and that Yinepu will guide them.

Specifically I work mostly with some select Kemetic Akhu. These are servants of my gods and are used for specific purposes. I own four shen which each has a netjeri attached to it, which helps me with various specialty which those gods are generally associated with. They all have names that I am allowed to call them, but they are not their real names. These netjeri are not specifically attached to those shen, as they share themselves with other people as well.

I do not work with nature netjeri very much, but living near the river all my life, and growing up on the river I do have a connection to the spirit in the Mississippi. At times the river is peaceful and tranquil. Other times it is very angry and would not hesitate to take your life. The river deserves great respect from all. Every now and then, when there is a feast to the Nile or Hapi, I go to the river and throw coins or some other offering to placate the spirits. This is especially useful during flood season when the river is at the height of its power.

Other spirits I work with are the spirits of Haiti. These are the spirits that live under the water. They are the spirits unique to Haitian culture and community. I have many experiences with them and consider one to be my guardian angel, which has been with me since birth. They are truly unique and wonderful. I also have acquired some ancestral netjeri, from the Irish-side of my family. One particular one hangs out around the house that I affectionately call the house elf. What type of spirit it is I am not sure, but it is definitely a bit of a trickster.

As you can see, the Seen and Unseen worlds are filled with inhabitants. Some spirits are easier to get to know than others, and some do not want to be known at all. Get to know you spirits. Set out some sugar and milk, and tell them to have some. They can definitely enrich your life.

About Raheri

Greetings everyone! I thought I would give you all a little information about myself. In secular life my name is Matt, and I am a 30-something man living in the Midwest. I am a registered nurse by trade and am working on completing my doctoral degree. Because of this I may not be regular at updating this blog, but I will try. I enjoy traveling, cleaning, and playing with my pug Roscoe. I am a member of the Kemetic Orthodox Faith. My Shemsu name is Raheriwesir. I am a w'ab priest of Wesir (Osiris) and have been affiliated with the House since about 2007. A w’ab priest is a priest who tends a shrine to one of the Names of Netjer. I am also currently an ordained reverend in the faith. I am also a practicing vodouisant, initiated as a Hounsi senp. I am continuing to learn about the role of the Haitian spirits in my life and why they want to hang around me. In addition to all this I am currently a 3rd Degree Master Mason. I am also affiliated with the Scottish Rite and have obtained the 32nd degree there. View all posts by Raheri

3 responses to “6. Beliefs: Spirits and Other Unseen Creatures

  • Aubs Tea

    I’m not good with spirit-sensing unless it’s obvious, such as some of the older cemeteries that I’ve done grave-tending in. I was just wondering how you got adept at it…? Was it natural; learned; due to your Kemeticism? Inquiring minds and all of that.

    Em hotep.

    • Raheriwesir

      It is hard, and sometimes I get frustrated myself. It generally is something you learn over time. The more you interact with the spirits, the easier it is to get to know them. Some you can interact with till you are blue in the face and they will not make their presence known at all because they want nothing to do with humans. Just talking with them is a good way to start. Begin with the conviction that they are real and that they are there. It’s like building a friendship. You call your friends, and talk about nothing important, just chit-chat. You go places with your friend so you can just be together. Sometimes you visit their family, and sometimes you just hang out. The major thing to do is not give up or second guess yourself. Make a conscious effort to believe everyday.

  • Faofeng

    Em hotep, Raheri 🙂 It is Faofeng from the House of Netjer. I was wondering how would you recommend contacting the spirits of the land or other Netjeri? I am somewhat *sensitive*, which over time has made me very wary and fearful of negative spirits (I believe I have come across some muuet). Since I have become Kemetic Orthodox, I haven’t had many problems, but I know that Hemet (AUS) does not encourage contacting spirits through certain mediums. Because of this, I’m afraid of drawing in negative spirits unintentionally, and I was wondering if you had any suggestions on how to make sure my offerings and such were directed at the intended recipients.

    Thanks and Senebty 🙂
    ~Faofeng

Leave a Reply

