5. Beliefs: The Gods and the Divine

(For simplicity, the masculine pronoun will be used to refer to god unless to specify the feminine aspects)

“My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord, and my spirit exalts in god my savior.

For He has looked with mercy on my lowliness, and my name will be forever exalted.”

According to Christian mythology these words were spoken by Mary, when an angel announced that she would bear the son of god. These words captivate my heart, and also help to describe my relationship with the Divine. While I don’t specifically call god my savior, my very being does rejoice in god looking at their creature and communicating with it.

I have believed in god since I can remember. Even when I questioned whether god was there, a part of me always sought after him. I have examined many different visions of god in my life; a savior god, a singular god, an indifferent god, and generic god, and a mother god. Across this I have come to my basic conclusions that I follow this day.

I refer to god as Netjer. Netjer is the transliteration of the Kemetic term “ntr.” It is generally defined as divine power or god. These are the ancient gods and goddesses of Kemet, such as Aset (Isis), Set, Heru-wer (Horus), Het-Hert (Hathor), and Bast. Netjer is the Self-Created One, brought into existence on Its own accord. This being appears in the many forms of the gods in the Kemetic faith. While I believe in the multiplicity of gods, I also believe sometimes they meld into each other and blend into each other. While this I not hard polytheism, I also believe that they can be a singular entities as well. This is not monotheism, but a specific form of polytheism. I also follow the concept of monolatry. Monlolatry as defined at Dictionary.com is “the exclusive worship of one god without excluding the existence of others.” In Ancient Kemet, others gods outside of Kemet where acknowledged, but generally seen as not being important because they were not the Egyptian ones. I view other faiths (Heathenism, Christianity, Judaism, and Hinduism) as being valid for those practitioners, but their gods are not my gods.

My concept of god is very similar to the Hindu concept. The Vedas state, “God is one. Men call Him by various names.” God is our operating system, and on the screen are the various icons which one can click to god. Christians click Jesus, Muslims click Allah, and I click Yinepu. God appears in a myriad of ways, just like we are all different. God comes to us in the way which is easiest for us to commune with, whether that is Vishnu, Buddha, nature, or YHWY.

As can be observed I believe each of us, has a personal manifestation that god takes in order for us to have a relationship with Him. As Kemetic Orthodox, I believe that one or two gods come to each of us, and interact with us in a personal way. Usually we refer to these as our parents. Other gods take a special interest in us as well, and these are called Beloveds. My personal connection to god comes through Wesir (Osiris), and through Nut, Djehuty (Thoth), and Yinepu (Anubis). I also have close relationbships with other gods not specifically identified as parents or beloveds: Ptah, Sekhmet, Aset (Isis), Wepwawet, and Hat-Hert (Hathor). This will be discussed later in this blog.

God is a concept far beyond words and my understanding. He chooses to come to me in this way to help my small mind to understand something which cannot be understood. May god continually watch over all of us.

About Raheri

Greetings everyone! I thought I would give you all a little information about myself. In secular life my name is Matt, and I am a 30-something man living in the Midwest. I am a registered nurse by trade and am working on completing my doctoral degree. Because of this I may not be regular at updating this blog, but I will try. I enjoy traveling, cleaning, and playing with my pug Roscoe. I am a member of the Kemetic Orthodox Faith. My Shemsu name is Raheriwesir. I am a w'ab priest of Wesir (Osiris) and have been affiliated with the House since about 2007. A w’ab priest is a priest who tends a shrine to one of the Names of Netjer. I am also currently an ordained reverend in the faith. I am also a practicing vodouisant, initiated as a Hounsi senp. I am continuing to learn about the role of the Haitian spirits in my life and why they want to hang around me. In addition to all this I am currently a 3rd Degree Master Mason. I am also affiliated with the Scottish Rite and have obtained the 32nd degree there. View all posts by Raheri

Leave a Reply

