Mysteries of Wesir: Day 6

The Mysteries of Wesir continue today with the Feast of the Food on the Altar. We celebrate His kingship today, and what can be better than some good food and friends. Food brings people together like nothing else can. Whenever there is an important event, there is always good food. And it is no different in the Unseen.

Let me share a dream I had once. I was walking in a small valley between two hills. The hills were covered with the greenest grass imaginable. As I come out of the valley I overlook a deeper valley. In the center is a small town in the distance. There are houses and some roads. Activity is going on near the main strip but I can’t really see what it is. Anyways, there are some animals running around, dogs mostly. A black dog sees me and runs towards me. She greets me with a jump and friendly kiss. As we walk closer to the town, I start to see people. A beautiful woman comes up to me, smiles, puts her arms around me and tells me they have been waiting so long for me to arrive. The party is just getting started. She takes me into town and tables line the streets, filled with the most succulent food imaginable. People see me, smile, wave, and invite me to join them. They all are radiant, and each and every one of them is familiar.

You see, they are my family and friends. They are the people who I no longer get to see every day. I do not get to touch them, hug them, or smell them. The joy and love I felt in this dream was so immense that I wish I could stay forever. And then I woke up, and realized that it was a dream. That I am not there, and they are not here.

As Kemetics, we believe the gods and ancestors can speak to us in our dreams. I believe mine spoke to me in this one. From past pet, to my grandmother, and to my uncles, I realize that they are happy and as alive and vibrant as anyone. Even in the Duat, they feast and have fellowship. Even the dead have to eat, and I am sure they eat well. But why do they eat if they are dead? We do it for physical nourishment, but why do they?

I talk about Wesir’s death often. It is important to me. I never quite got the “green” Wesir, the life-giving, plant growing, nature sort of deity. To me, Wesir is dead, but not in the same way we all understand what dead is. Being dead doesn’t mean that you can no longer interact with each other, at least not in my life. The dead have always come and gone around me, and really it is abnormal when it doesn’t happen.

So as I write this, I am thinking of what it is I want to say.  Life is not much different than death. They are different words for a similar state. In both we eat, drink, work, enjoy family and friends. But they are so very different as well. We have life for a reason. It is a special gift from the gods, and it takes meditation, and experience in trying to find what we feel it is.

I asked Wesir once, what the purpose of it all was. I got an answer back, quite immediately. He said, “To live.” What an amazing purpose! I am not to sit and contemplate the mysteries of the universe in a closed shrine room all day. I am not to wrap myself up in a digital world online all day. I am to live and experience life.

And when the times comes for me to depart, when I approach the Hall of Two Truth, and bow before His majestic throne, I know He will ask me what I learned. My answer will be, “I lived.”

Dua Wesir!

About Raheri

Greetings everyone! I thought I would give you all a little information about myself. In secular life my name is Matt, and I am a 30-something man living in the Midwest. I am a registered nurse by trade and am working on completing my doctoral degree. Because of this I may not be regular at updating this blog, but I will try. I enjoy traveling, cleaning, and playing with my pug Roscoe. I am a member of the Kemetic Orthodox Faith. My Shemsu name is Raheriwesir. I am a w'ab priest of Wesir (Osiris) and have been affiliated with the House since about 2007. A w’ab priest is a priest who tends a shrine to one of the Names of Netjer. I am also currently an ordained reverend in the faith. I am also a practicing vodouisant, initiated as a Hounsi senp. I am continuing to learn about the role of the Haitian spirits in my life and why they want to hang around me. In addition to all this I am currently a 3rd Degree Master Mason. I am also affiliated with the Scottish Rite and have obtained the 32nd degree there. View all posts by Raheri

Leave a Reply

