Mysteries of Wesir: Day 4

Today the Mysteries of Wesir continue. Today He remains gone. He is Sokar. Sokar is the embodiment of Zep Tepi. He represents that which is yet to come. He is newness and hope. He can be whatever He desires. Sokar resides between the Seen and Unseen, that middle place where one is not yet the other. He is the darkness itself. If we view Wepwawet as a doorkeeper, then Sokar would be the door itself.

So why am I bringing up Sokar? Tonight is the night when Wesir is changed, when the dead king becomes something more. He does not return to life as we think of life. He is different. He goes from being a living god, to a dead god, to a god who is dead. I equate it as being similar to a man. You have a living man, man dies and is a dead man, and then man is transformed into a glorified Akh. Wesir did that too. In fact, He did it first.

I have been thinking about death, the dead, and the afterlife these Mysteries. It has stricken me with a powerful question. Do the dead realize they are dead? All the living die, and all the dead live again, so is the reversal true? In the Unseen do they understand that we think of them as dead? Do they think of themselves as living? What do they think of us? We are in another world to them. To get the answers all I need to do is look at Wesir and my heart. And there I can see my answer.

Tonight life stirs. Sokar stirs. Something is happening. My mourning and sorrow will not remain. I will take it and transform it, like the Great God does this night. Nothing in this world last and remains forever. Everything changes. For each day is a new Zep Tepi, a new beginning, and flickering of hope.

I see that hope now, burning in a flame sitting on His altar. Tonight I anticipate His return. My hope is in god.

I leave you with a hymn which I find especially meaningful this time of year.

Holy darkness, blessed night,
heaven’s answer hidden from our sight.
As we await you, O God of silence,
we embrace your holy night.

I have tried you in fires of affliction;
I have taught your soul to grieve.
In the barren soil of your loneliness,
there I will plant my seed.

I have taught you the price of compassion;
you have stood before the grave.
Though my love can seem
like a raging storm,
this is the love that saves.

Were you there
when I raised up the mountains?
Can you guide the morning star?
Does the hawk take flight
when you give command?
Why do you doubt my pow’r?

In your deepest hour of darkness
I will give you wealth untold.
When the silence stills your spirit,
will my riches fill your soul.

As the watchman waits for morning,
and the bride awaits her groom,
so we wait to hear your footsteps
as we rest beneath your moon.

Holy darkness, blessed night,
heaven’s answer hidden from our sight.
As we await you, O God of silence,
we embrace your holy night.

About Raheri

Greetings everyone! I thought I would give you all a little information about myself. In secular life my name is Matt, and I am a 30-something man living in the Midwest. I am a registered nurse by trade and am working on completing my doctoral degree. Because of this I may not be regular at updating this blog, but I will try. I enjoy traveling, cleaning, and playing with my pug Roscoe. I am a member of the Kemetic Orthodox Faith. My Shemsu name is Raheriwesir. I am a w'ab priest of Wesir (Osiris) and have been affiliated with the House since about 2007. A w’ab priest is a priest who tends a shrine to one of the Names of Netjer. I am also currently an ordained reverend in the faith. I am also a practicing vodouisant, initiated as a Hounsi senp. I am continuing to learn about the role of the Haitian spirits in my life and why they want to hang around me. In addition to all this I am currently a 3rd Degree Master Mason. I am also affiliated with the Scottish Rite and have obtained the 32nd degree there. View all posts by Raheri

3 responses to “Mysteries of Wesir: Day 4

Leave a Reply

