Mysteries of Wesir: Day 3

Today is the 3rd day of the Mysteries of Wesir, generally referred to as a day of mourning. Mourning is an outer reflection of the inner feeling of grief. How we express that grief is different from culture to culture. In modern American culture, it is unseemly to display mourning. In ancient times, 70 days was given.

Today I mourn for the loss of Wesir. He was taken away. He is not just missing or has gone on a trip. He is removed from us. Today has been a very cold day. It has rained all day long. Not a hard rain, but a steady soft, chilling rain. The wind has swooped through to one’s bones. The leaves are fallen from the trees. They lay in piles in the yard. Wet and lifeless. The sky was hidden by clouds all day, and tonight not one star is seen.

The weather reflects the emptiness I feel. He is gone.

His shrine, usually a source of strength and light is cold, dark, and lifeless. He is gone.

It is very cold tonight…but in this darkness and cold, there is a small flame of hope burning. I close my eyes and it is there. I cannot decipher it, or make it out with my vision, but something looms on the horizon tomorrow…

Do I feel this way because He is gone? Do I feel this way because a part of my very self is ripped from me? Or do I feel this way because I miss Him? I do. I miss Him so much…

About Raheri

Greetings everyone! I thought I would give you all a little information about myself. In secular life my name is Matt, and I am a 30-something man living in the Midwest. I am a registered nurse by trade and am working on completing my doctoral degree. Because of this I may not be regular at updating this blog, but I will try. I enjoy traveling, cleaning, and playing with my pug Roscoe. I am a member of the Kemetic Orthodox Faith. My Shemsu name is Raheriwesir. I am a w'ab priest of Wesir (Osiris) and have been affiliated with the House since about 2007. A w’ab priest is a priest who tends a shrine to one of the Names of Netjer. I am also currently an ordained reverend in the faith. I am also a practicing vodouisant, initiated as a Hounsi senp. I am continuing to learn about the role of the Haitian spirits in my life and why they want to hang around me. In addition to all this I am currently a 3rd Degree Master Mason. I am also affiliated with the Scottish Rite and have obtained the 32nd degree there. View all posts by Raheri

4 responses to “Mysteries of Wesir: Day 3

Leave a Reply

