Mysteries of Wesir: Day 1

Today is the first day of the great Mysteries of Sokar-Wesir and one of the holiest times of year. Today the beginning of the blessed feast starts on the secular American holiday of Thanksgiving. It seems appropriate. As I went to work today, I saw family come and visit their loved ones, while others had no one. It made me reflect on how lucky I am, that my family is still here; that I still have people I love with me. And it made me contemplate, and thank god for family. It reminded me of the sacrifice Wesir made for family.

Today is the Defense of Wesir from Set. In ancient times Set was identified with the dry, arid, hot red lands of Kemet, while Wesir was identified with the lush, fertile, black land along the Nile. It is during this time of the year that the Nile waters receded and the time of growing was approaching. In today’s festival this doesn’t seem to make much sense, but later in the week it will.

According to popular myth Set killed His brother Wesir as an act of jealousy. Ancient myth tells a different story. Wesir is found dead along the banks of the Nile, drowned. Some sources point to His brother Set. As a child of Wesir, it took me a long time to come to terms with Set and what He may have done to my father. I avoided Set. I wanted nothing to do with Him. But over the years, I have come to a completely different realization. I thank Set.

I thank Set for doing what no other god could. I thank Set for loving His brother so much, that He would take the blame and make sure that His son would be as great of a king as Wesir was. I also thank Wesir, for sacrificing His own eternity with His wife and son. I thank Him for dying so that those people I love, my departed family and friends, are not alone in the West. He is there with them, shining as Ra in the Duat.

As I think about the two brothers, tears fill my eyes. They loved each other more than I could ever imagine loving a sibling. I am humbled by Their example and wish to emulate what a brother is. May I too be a good and loving a brother as Set and Wesir are to all my brothers and sisters.

About Raheri

Greetings everyone! I thought I would give you all a little information about myself. In secular life my name is Matt, and I am a 30-something man living in the Midwest. I am a registered nurse by trade and am working on completing my doctoral degree. Because of this I may not be regular at updating this blog, but I will try. I enjoy traveling, cleaning, and playing with my pug Roscoe. I am a member of the Kemetic Orthodox Faith. My Shemsu name is Raheriwesir. I am a w'ab priest of Wesir (Osiris) and have been affiliated with the House since about 2007. A w’ab priest is a priest who tends a shrine to one of the Names of Netjer. I am also currently an ordained reverend in the faith. I am also a practicing vodouisant, initiated as a Hounsi senp. I am continuing to learn about the role of the Haitian spirits in my life and why they want to hang around me. In addition to all this I am currently a 3rd Degree Master Mason. I am also affiliated with the Scottish Rite and have obtained the 32nd degree there. View all posts by Raheri

7 responses to “Mysteries of Wesir: Day 1

Leave a Reply

