3. History: Why I Chose Kemetic Orthodoxy

I first became associated with the Egyptian pantheon back in my Wiccan days. Before I got to know the Egyptian gods I have previously focuses on Christian-Wicca, worshipped Diana (Stregheria), and mingled in some Celtic (Irish & Scottish) mythology. This all changed and became a focus when Isis came crashing through the door!

It all started with a dream. In this dream there was beautiful woman, wearing a golden-feathered dress, with a vulture on Her head. She was surrounded by darkness, and slowly walked to me. She then spread Her arms and they had golden wings. She whispered to me, “Find me.” She then disappeared and I awoke. After some study in book son Wicca, I discovered that this was Isis. I immediately began to start devotion to Her in my Wiccan practice. Through Her, I started to learn more about Egypt and I discovered Her husband, Osiris.

Being Wiccan I began to incorporate Kemeticism into my practice. Unfortunately we know what little information there is on Tamaran Wicca. While doing an online search I came across the website http://www.kemet.org. I was taken aback by there actually being a group that practiced the old religion and thought at first it was an Afrocentric organization. Plus it didn’t really have what I was looking for, a merging of Wicca and Kemeticism.

Well time moved on, and people change. I stopped practicing this path. Other spiritual systems came and went. I was going through some personal issues and was looking for a way that I could help myself. I moved away from needing gods or goddesses, and decided to look within for help. I started learning more about Tibetan Buddhism, meditation, and finding ways to control my anger (which was directly basically at everything). But something kept pulling me back. The dream would repeat, “Find me.” She would motion for me to come. I went back to the website. Read the information actually presented. But I wasn’t sure. Is this real? Do the gods exist? Who are these people?

My boyfriend Josh and I got tickets to see the Tutankhamun Exhibit at the Field Museum in Chicago in the fall of 2006. Knowing I may never get to see something like this again, I jumped at the chance because of my love for Egypt. I walked along the exhibits, seeing statues, artifacts, and personal items from the tombs. It was very meditative. I contemplated. Is this for me? Is this the way? Do the gods live? As I was walking in one of the rooms, I heard a voice. There were lots of voices in the crowd, but this one pierced straight into my soul. I do not remember what it said, but our eyes met. I walked across the room to a mask of glistening gold. Her eyes were beautiful. It was the death mask of Tuya. She radiated with joy. You could still see the fabric placed over the mask stuck from the resins. She had a smile on her face. She knew something I didn’t. She was not as dead as everyone in this room thought. She was alive. She knew the secret. And she was filled with joy.

After that experience I went home, but not alone. Tjuyu came with me and is still has a prominent place in my Akhu shrine. After the trip I sent in my beginner’s application to the House of Netjer. Several months later the classes started and I found my home. My experiences have grown and so have I as an individual. As I have gone through the rites of passage, I have experienced things I never would have. I have found comfort and peace. May Netjer bring this same comfort and peace to everyone who crosses our doorsteps, and may we always be a reflection of them.

About Raheri

Greetings everyone! I thought I would give you all a little information about myself. In secular life my name is Matt, and I am a 30-something man living in the Midwest. I am a registered nurse by trade and am working on completing my doctoral degree. Because of this I may not be regular at updating this blog, but I will try. I enjoy traveling, cleaning, and playing with my pug Roscoe. I am a member of the Kemetic Orthodox Faith. My Shemsu name is Raheriwesir. I am a w'ab priest of Wesir (Osiris) and have been affiliated with the House since about 2007. A w’ab priest is a priest who tends a shrine to one of the Names of Netjer. I am also currently an ordained reverend in the faith. I am also a practicing vodouisant, initiated as a Hounsi senp. I am continuing to learn about the role of the Haitian spirits in my life and why they want to hang around me. In addition to all this I am currently a 3rd Degree Master Mason. I am also affiliated with the Scottish Rite and have obtained the 32nd degree there. View all posts by Raheri

One response to “3. History: Why I Chose Kemetic Orthodoxy

  • zenmouse82

    Yes, Tuya’s death mask was a powerful presence in that room full of artifacts. It definitely radiated a joy that transcended both death and time. I am glad that you have found measures of peace and joy in a path that suits you and feels like home to you. It is your karma, your doing. In finding it, you found yourself.

Leave a Reply

