Wag Festival, Day 2

Today was the second day of the Wag Festival. Today I went to Atlas, IL. It is a very small ton in Illinois at the crossroads of 2 highways. The cemetery there is a small but well maintained one. I went there to say prayers, give offerings, and spend some time with a few Akhu. Buried there is the Wesir Grover Cleveland House (great-grandfather), the Wesir Pearlie Mae House (great-grandmother), the Wesir Charles House (great-great-grandfather), and the Wesir Clara House (great-great-grandmother). While I was there I cleaned some stones that needed it, and discovered the cemetery is crawling with Masons. I left some money to the guardian of the cemetery in expectations that he will watch over my ancestors until I come back again.

Overall it was a good festival. I read online many others celebrating in the same ways, and even though we are separated by miles, I felt close like a community of believers should. I saw some of their pictures, heard their stories, and got to share in their activities. Tonight I get the feeling that we have some very happy Akhu in the Nation of Kemet, along with a very happy King. Thank you to everyone who made this festival the great celebration it should be!

Dua Akhu! Nekhtet!

About Raheri

Greetings everyone! I thought I would give you all a little information about myself. In secular life my name is Matt, and I am a 30-something man living in the Midwest. I am a registered nurse by trade and am working on completing my doctoral degree. Because of this I may not be regular at updating this blog, but I will try. I enjoy traveling, cleaning, and playing with my pug Roscoe. I am a member of the Kemetic Orthodox Faith. My Shemsu name is Raheriwesir. I am a w'ab priest of Wesir (Osiris) and have been affiliated with the House since about 2007. A w’ab priest is a priest who tends a shrine to one of the Names of Netjer. I am also currently an ordained reverend in the faith. I am also a practicing vodouisant, initiated as a Hounsi senp. I am continuing to learn about the role of the Haitian spirits in my life and why they want to hang around me. In addition to all this I am currently a 3rd Degree Master Mason. I am also affiliated with the Scottish Rite and have obtained the 32nd degree there. View all posts by Raheri

Leave a Reply

