Dream Interpretation

I have seemed to acquire the title of dream interpreter at work. Not sure how I got it, or even if I want it, but I have coworkers coming to me to help them understand their dreams. I am pretty good at symbology and have experience in mental health, so maybe I do have some insight. I am far from an expert, but so far I guess I have helped people. They do keep coming back.

Today was a relatively interesting situation. A coworker came in, and talked with me about her dream. Usually I can discuss the subconscious and what their brain is trying to tell them. But this time, it was not the brain. It was the world of spirit. I don’t want to discuss the particulars of her dream, it is her business and I want her to have privacy, but I am not sure what is going on. I have had similar dreams in the past like hers, so I gave her some advice, and told her if it doesn’t work she may need more advanced spiritual help.

I usually do not share my faith at work. After all I like in a small Midwestern town and am a priest in an ancient revival of the Egyptian religion and initiated vodouisant. Not something you want to go screaming from the rooftops if you ever want a better job in the future. But I felt very comfortable doing this. It felt good to offer her some small glimmer of hope and ease to know that there are things she can do to remedy the situation. So maybe I can be a little more “out.” Just like coming out is different today than it was when I was a teenager, so maybe is a spiritual coming out different as well. Am I going to start shouting out and blaring my faith for the whole world to see? No but I am not going to talk in circles if they do. I think I will just answer the questions. This may not be the brightest idea I have ever had, but I think I can live with it. I do have faith in those people I know.

About Raheri

Greetings everyone! I thought I would give you all a little information about myself. In secular life my name is Matt, and I am a 30-something man living in the Midwest. I am a registered nurse by trade and am working on completing my doctoral degree. Because of this I may not be regular at updating this blog, but I will try. I enjoy traveling, cleaning, and playing with my pug Roscoe. I am a member of the Kemetic Orthodox Faith. My Shemsu name is Raheriwesir. I am a w'ab priest of Wesir (Osiris) and have been affiliated with the House since about 2007. A w’ab priest is a priest who tends a shrine to one of the Names of Netjer. I am also currently an ordained reverend in the faith. I am also a practicing vodouisant, initiated as a Hounsi senp. I am continuing to learn about the role of the Haitian spirits in my life and why they want to hang around me. In addition to all this I am currently a 3rd Degree Master Mason. I am also affiliated with the Scottish Rite and have obtained the 32nd degree there. View all posts by Raheri

One response to “Dream Interpretation

  • Menem

    I too kind of “have” to keep my faith under wraps. A few of my friends at college know the extent of it- but that’s about it. I even go back and forth with keeping Menem in my name on Facebook. People ask questions, and while many of them are okay with me saying, “oh, it’s just a nickname,” (which definitely isn’t a lie) I refuse to lie if they ask further questions. I’m trying to get involved in Residence Life to help keep me in college financially (free room and board) and I can’t afford higher-ups being biased against me. Sigh.

    As far as dream interpretation goes, it’s something Nenek’s really good at it. I can analyze my own dreams fairly well, but I’ve never been good with other people’s. 😀 It’s really awesome that you’re in that position to offer a sense of understanding to people.

    Senebty!

Leave a Reply

